Marvin S. Vance

No Portrait Available
Headstone Photograph


Marvin S., D. D.
Oct. 13, 1905
July 15, 1966

Dorothy M.
Dec. 12. 1909
Dec. 30, 1997

Back of headstone

Entered Methodist Ministry 1931
Pastor, First Methodist Church Austin, Texas 1949 - 1962
Member, Board of Corrections 1959 - 1966
Member, Board of Directors, Salvation Army
Full Name: Marvin S. Vance
Location: Section:Republic Hill, Section 1 (C1)
Row:M  Number:10
Reason for Eligibility: Member, Texas State Board of Corrections 
Birth Date: October 13, 1905 
Died: July 15, 1966 
Burial Date: July 18, 1966 

VANCE, MARVIN S. (1905 ~ 1966). The following is an obituary for Dr. Marvin S. Vance, former member of the State Board of Corrections. The obituary was published in the Austin American-Statesman on an unknown date. Vance died July 15, 1966.

"Final tributes were paid were paid Monday to Dr. Marvin S. Vance, 61, former pastor of First Methodist Church of Austin, who died Saturday in a local hospital after an illness of three years.

Dr. Monroe Vivion of Austin and Rev. Don Benton of Dallas officiated at the funeral service held in First Methodist Church where Dr. Vance served as pastor for 14 years.

Burial was in State Cemetery here under direction of the Cook Funeral Home.

Dr. Vance joined the Texas Methodist Conference in 1931 and served churches in Bay City, Pasadena, Houston and Jacksonville during the next 18 years. He moved to the Southwest Texas Conference in 1949 and was assigned to the First Methodist Church of Austin. He was a member and past president of Austin Rotary Club; a past member of Salvation Army Advisory Board, director of Wesley Foundation at the University of Texas, and served three and one-half years as secretary to the Texas Board of Corrections under appointment by Governor Price Daniel.

He is survived by his widow, Mrs. Dorothy Vance of Austin, and by three sisters, Mrs. Thelma Vance Johnson of Houston, Mrs. Ada Mae Johnson and Mrs. Gladys Wilbur of Laneville.

Pallbearers were Allan Shivers, Rogan B. Giles, Tom W. Bradfield, Dan Moody Jr., DeWitt Greer, Pete Coffield, Jim Yeates, and Jack Strayton.

Honorary pallbearers were members of Downtown Rotary, current and past officials of First Methodist Church, and Methodist ministers of the Southwest Texas Conference.

Memorial contributions may be made to the Methodist Mission Home in San Antonio."

Further information available through the Texas State Cemetery research department.

Additional Multimedia Files To Download:

#13260) Title:Original Biography
Source: Unknown
Description: Original Cemetery Biography


Search by Name.